I’m currently reading Savage Beauty, a biography of Edna St. Vincent Millay. It’s quite fascinating (for instance, did you know she went to Vassar College? I didn’t!).

In the book are some letters of correspondence she had with her mother and two sisters, along with various lovers and friends.

Letter writing! Whodathunkit?

Are you wondering how this relates to myspace, as implied in the title?

Okay, first read this article.

Second, celebrate with me, for I have quit the Myspace.

I had thought about deleting my page eons ago, but somehow I talked myself out of it. Only now, after reading the aforementioned article, feeling almost exactly like the author, I knew it was time.

I feel so free!

And I have an idea! A Good Idea, inspired by Edna St. Vincent Millay and her company. I’m going to find beautiful stationery and a flowing pen, and I’m going to sit down every so often to write hand-written letters to my peeps, instead of logging on to some random networking site! I’m a bad networker anyway. I am going to be old-fashioned, and I’m going to love every minute of it. I’m going to slow everything down, and I’m going to enjoy it, because sometimes technology scares me. I’m going to have a tea party one of these days!

By the by, I have nothing against Email. In fact, I think it’s great, but wouldn’t you like to get letters via the mailbox? (If so, send me your address and I will write, pinky swear.)

