I was just at my super old blog to make a link here, and while I was there I looked at some of my old posts. Wow, it is so so so embarrassing. The pictures on the blog are so awful, as is my writing (lots of tee hees, LOLS, and spelling and grammatical errors). It’s so weird to look back on all of it, because at the time I was so proud of it. Not that I’m not still proud of it, it’s really awesome to be able to see how much I’ve grown in the 2 1/2 + years since I started blogging. I wonder if in 2 years I’ll look back at this blog and think of how ridiculous it is? My old blog is the kind of thing where it’s nice to revisit once every couple of months as a refresher of things and food past, but any more than that is a big no. I just have to move past it.

Another thing I’ve been thinking about moving past lately is Earth Balance.
Collectively as vegans I think we really need to stop being obsessed with EB (as it’s familiarly called) and move on to better, more sustainable methods of whipping up frostings and general fluffiness. I’m not quite sure what this entails yet, but I’m going to be experimenting with coconut oil, and I’ll report back with my findings (expect either a major breakthrough or a major failure) on it.Isn't EB really creepy and gross when you think about it?
Putting the art deco back into penuche icing since 1990.

Just to show you that the once in a while, crocodile, mantra is okay, here is a gloriously Earth Balance-y photo from my archives, made for a friend’s potluck:


Cookies and Cream, and the Newman O’s were free, isn’t that smashing?

And now here is a gloriously EB free cake I made last week for my housemate:
Chocolate and Hazelnut deliciousness.

Happy Baking!

