Election Day – the other ED.

This was my first election voting, how exciting for it to be such a history-making one!

While we all anxiously await the results how about some pictures of Ralph Nader circa the 1969 October 3rd issue of Life Magazine (that I bought for a dollar at the Woodstock Flea Market)?

Yes, this picture has been widely circulated, but dudes, 1969 Life magazine! In my hands! How awesome!

img_6243

img_6245

img_6252

img_6253

Bonus pic from the magazine:
img_6249

I didn’t vote for him (Cynthia McKinney got my vote, holla!) but man do I love Ralph Nader.
And his quotes.

“You can’t spoil a system that is spoiled to the core.”

“The only true aging is the erosion of one’s ideals.”

And one of my personal favorites, Ralph Nader on hot dogs, calling them “Missiles of death.”

I leave you with one final quote, this one from Archy and Mehitabel, a cute little book I just read about Archy the cockroach and Mehitabel the cat and their perspectives on things.

From xii:certain maxims of Archy.

“The bees got their governmental system settled millions of years ago but the human race is still groping.”

****Update: Well, since I wrote this Obama was elected president (!!!) and Ralph Nader came out with his Uncle Tom quote, which I am sure you all know about by now. I had never heard the term Uncle Tom before yesterday, and I haven’t read Uncle Tom’s Cabin (although now I plan on it), and at first I didn’t fully understand what the problem was, but I think I get it now. How disappointing that he couldn’t have used another analogy for what he was trying to say. I still respect him for the work he has done in the past, but this was a bit of a blow to my admiration for him.

