Maybe it’s because I find all of my shoes either at second-hand stores or kicking around my parents house (um, don’t ask), but lately my shoes have been dropping like flies, and I don’t like it one bit. Take these so-horrible-they’re-awesome granny shoes that totally broke when I wore them to my ex-job at a cafe (in retrospect I realize this was a bad idea, but I was excited about them and wanted to show them off, can you blame me?):

img_6424

They were only three dollars, and they lasted like, three days. Bummer. They even had cute little hearts on the back. I actually saw the same exact pair at the Salvation Army in New Paltz, but alas, they were size 9 and I’m just a 7 1/2. Anyway, the granny shoes broke during the middle (read: busiest part) of the day, and I had no choice but to tape them up and carry on to the best of my ability. It was a blow to my fashion sense, but I kept trudging along….

Then I found these suckers for $1 in Saugerties.
img_6427
I loved them so much, but sadly, they also went kaput.

After the gold rush:
img_6431

And then, after I made peace with the temporary death (temporary until I glue them together again or something) of the golden gals, I found the Keds.
img_4694

It was fun while it lasted, wasn’t it?

img_6730

If you can’t read between the lines, it actually says, “Keds, they feel good – until you wear them in the rain and notice your right foot is starting to become soaking wet.”

img_6729

Aaah……you kinda suck.

img_6728

Guess it’s back to my trusted Merrell walking shoes until they die or I find some more new used shoes, whatever comes first.

img_6733

Oh, while we are on the subject of shoes, I just found out about a vegan boutique in Chatham called Cow Jones Industrials (hmm, what’s with their name if it’s a vegan place?). I haven’t been there yet but how rad is it to have a vegan shoe store in upstate NY? Check it here.

