This is possibly the dumbest post ever written, but hopefully Bob Dylan fans will get it.

(I am aware this photo is super blurry, it’s my take on the Blonde on Blonde album cover. Take it or leave it…..)
img_7435

img_6749

Blondies are a nice change of pace from the boring regular chocolate dessert that is known as the brownie. Alright, I take it back, brownies aren’t boring. And actually, chocolate isn’t always used. When my sisters and I were younger on rainy days my mother used to make carob brownies a la 1970’s hippy food/Mollie Katzen cuisine.*
One day when my sister was away at college her friend started talking about how she thought she hated brownies growing up but really she just hated the carob brownies her mother made, and my sister knew exactly what she meant.**
My sister’s friend grew up on a hippy commune in Texas, though. We didn’t grow up on a commune, we were stuck in the suburbs with the urban blues, so I have no idea what my mother’s reasoning behind the carob was.
(Actually I do. We just ate super healthy growing up.)

* I have nothing against the Moosewood cookbooks. In fact, I think they’re adorable. However, I am annoyed by Mollie Katzen’s selling-out. (Don’t follow the link unless you want to be aggravated.)

** For the record, I like carob and I know at least five other people who believe in it.

A few weeks ago I had an idea that cashew butter would be really nice in blondies, so I pledged my time to make some absolutely sweet treats.
The cashew butter worked well in them; the flavor isn’t too overwhelming, but you can taste it, which is nice. I’m happy with the texture, it was just like a blondie should be (well, the texture was perfect for 2 of the 3 I’ve made). The 4th time around we’ll see how it goes.

These babies are a work in progress, though.
I still think they could use something else, I’m just not sure what. If you have a suggestion, feel free to tell me! I’m sure at least one of you must know something to jazz it up.

I wanted to buy some of the Price Chopper accidentally vegan butterscotch chips I’ve been hearing all about lately so I could use them in the blondies and call them blonde on blonde, but the ingredients were scary and I couldn’t bring myself to buy them.
Although I might just have to crack and get them to see how taste in the blondies. Decisions, decisions.
img_6750

