If you’re like me, you can never have enough cookbooks in your collection.
The Best of Bloodroot (note: there are two volumes, I haven’t made anything from vol. 1 yet, so this post is only about vol. 2) is now up there in my favorites (along with The Passionate Vegetarian and Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone, if you were wondering), but I’m sorry to say that until my friend/boss Lagusta gave me a copy of the book, I had never even heard of Bloodroot. As a vegetarian feminist collective, they blend politics and food together seamlessly, and they’re an inspiration to all.
What I especially love about this cookbook is the fact that there is a conscious decision to move away from Earth Balance and other unsustainable products we sometimes become accustomed to.
The majority of the recipes are also soymilk free, replacing soy with coconut, which leads to amazing texture and richness, and is also very nice for people looking to cut down on their consumption of soy. (Lagusta has an amazing essay on coconut in the beginning of the book, definitely check it out!!!)

But enough of the raving, I’ll let the pictures do the talking.

Winter Miso Soup

Winter Miso Soup

Chinese Steamed Buns

Chinese Steamed Buns

Seaweed and Bean Thread Noodle Salad with Avocado

Seaweed and Bean Thread Noodle Salad with Avocado

Shiitake Soup

Shiitake Soup

Estofado Con Chochoyotes

Estofado Con Chochoyotes

Parsnip (in place of pumpkin) Tofu Custard with Caramelized Pears

Parsnip (in place of pumpkin) Tofu Custard with Caramelized Pears

Chocolate Ice Cream with Hot Fudge Sauce

Chocolate Ice Cream with Hot Fudge Sauce

Banana Cream Pie!

Banana Cream Pie!

Half-Eaten Banana Cream Pie

Half-Eaten Banana Cream Pie

Slice of Banana Cream Pie

Slice of Banana Cream Pie

Go buy it!

